II Workshop on Broadband Access Networks (II WRA)


The rapid growth in the number of Internet users as well as the proliferation of highbandwidth services such as high definition IPTV, video on demand, and interactive online games, has encouraged the investments on broadband access networks.

In 2010, the Brazilian federal government launched the National Broadband plan (PNBL - Plano Nacional de Banda Larga), a U$12 billion program which aims at providing access to broadband Internet across the country. Given the social and economic importance of low-cost and efficient technologies for broadband access, we invite researchers from academia and industry to discuss current trends in this area.

The Second Workshop on Broadband Access Networks (II WRA) aims to be a forum for the presentation of recent and ongoing work on technologies for access networks, in particular those related to the convergence of optical and wireless networks. The workshop will be held on May 4th, and it will be co-located with the XXX Brazilian Symposium on Computer Networks and Distributed Systems (SBRC), which will take place from April 30th to May 4th 2012, in Ouro Preto, MG, Brazil.

Topics of Interest

For this second WRA edition authors are invited to submit papers describing original and unpublished work addressing various aspects of access networks, in particular those related to the convergence of optical and wireless networks. Authors with preliminary results or ongoing work are also encouraged to submit papers. The topics include, but are not limited to:

  • Access network monitoring and measurements
  • Access networks for Smart Grids
  • Access networks performance, scalability, and reliability
  • Autonomy in access networks
  • CDMA, WCDMA, OFDM and OFDMA technologies
  • Cognitive radio
  • Cross-layer design
  • Digital satellite access technology
  • Dynamic spectrum access networks
  • FTTx and PON technologies
  • Green aspects of access networks
  • Integration between cabled and wireless networks for access networks
  • Long reach Ethernet
  • Management issues in access networks
  • MIMO techniques
  • Mobility
  • Municipal and community networks
  • QoS and QoE in access networks
  • Radio over fiber
  • Security and privacy in access networks
  • Service Convergence
  • Traffic engineering and control in access networks
  • Ubiquitous computing
  • WiMAX, LTE, and LTE-Advanced networks
  • Wireless mesh networks

Author guidelines

Paper submission will be exclusively online through the JEMS conferencing system. Authors should access https://jems.sbc.org.br/. Papers may be written in Portuguese or English, and must be in PDF format. Each paper is limited to 14 pages, including abstract, figures, tables, references, and appendix. Papers must follow the SBC format, available at Template SBC.

Papers will be reviewed with the standard reviewing procedure (with at least 3 independent anonymous reviews). To be published in the II WRA Proceedings, at least one of the authors of an accepted paper is required to register and present the paper at the event. The presented papers will go through an evaluation that will take into account both the manuscript and the presentation qualities, and the best papers will be rewarded at the end of the event.

Important dates

Paper submission: March 12th 2012
Notification of acceptance: March 27th 2012
Camera ready submission: April 2nd 2012
The event: May 4th 2012

Organizing Committees

SBRC General Co-chairs

Jussara Marques de Almeida, UFMG
Dorgival Olavo Guedes Neto, UFMG

SBRC Workshops Chair

Aldri Luiz dos Santos, UFPR

WRA General Chairs

Cesar Augusto Viana Melo, UFAM
Gustavo Bittencourt Figueiredo, UFBA

WRA Program Committee Chair

Luiz Fernando Bittencourt, UNICAMP
Juliana Freitag Borin, UNICAMP

WRA Best Paper Award Commitee Chair

Daniel Macêdo Batista, USP

WRA Steering Committee

Edmundo Madeira, UNICAMP
Nelson L. S. da Fonseca, UNICAMP

WRA Program Committee

André Costa Drummond, UNB
André Noll Barreto, UNB
Antônio A. de Aragão Rocha, UFF
Arlindo Flávio, UNIFESP
Augusto Neto, UFG
César A. V. Melo, UFAM
Daniel Macêdo Batista, USP
Dario Vieira, EFREI
Debora Christina Muchaluat Saade, UFF
Divanilson R. Campelo, UNB
Djamel Sadok, UFPE
Edjair Mota, UFAM
Edmundo Monteiro, Universidade de Coimbra
Eduardo Souto , UFAM
Eduardo Coelho Cerqueira UFPA
Fábio Verdi, UFSCar
Gustavo Bittencourt Figueiredo, UFBA
Horácio Fernandes, UFAM
Jorge Luiz de Castro e Silva, UECE
José Ferreira de Rezende, UFRJ
Juliana Freitag Borin, UNICAMP
Jussara Almeida, UFMG
Kleber Vieira Cardoso, UFG
Luiz Fernando Bittencourt, UNICAMP
Michele Mara de Araújo Espíndola Lima, UFPE
Michele Nogueira, UFPR
Vicente Angelo de Sousa Junior, UFRN


Cesar Augusto Viana Melo, UFAM








Ministerio da Educacao